Group Members

Prof. Jürgen Götz, PhD

Address in Brisbane (as of Feb 6, 2012):

Foundation Chair of Dementia Research

Director, Centre for Ageing Dementia Research (CADR)

The Queensland Brain Institute

(Building 79)

The University of Queensland

Upland Road

St Lucia, Brisbane, QLD 4067

Office/Lab: Level 3

E-mail: j.goetz@uq.edu.au

Address in Sydney (affiliated):

Professor (Chair of Molecular Biology)

Director, Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s Disease Laboratory

Brain and Mind Research Institute

University of Sydney

100 Mallett St

Camperdown, NSW 2050

Room: R309

Phone Office: +61-2-9351-0789

Phone Lab: +61-2-9351-0875

Fax: +61-2-9114-4200

E-mail: juergen.goetz@sydney.edu.au

Education:

1981-85  Biocenter, University of Basel, Switzerland, M.S. (Biochemistry)

1985-89 University of Freiburg & Max Planck Institute, Germany, PhD (Immunology; PhD thesis with Nobel Laureate Georges Köhler)

Professional Experience:

1990-1992 Postdoctoral Training (DFG fellowship), University of California San Francisco, UCSF, USA

1992-1994 Postdoctoral Training, Preclinical Research, Novartis Ltd, Basel, Switzerland

1994-1998 Group Leader: Institut für Molekularbiologie I, University of Zurich, Switzerland

1998-2005 Group Leader: Division of Psychiatry Research, University of Zurich, Switzerland

2000-2005: Group Leader: Zentrum für Neurobiologie Zurich (ZNZ), Switzerland

2002: Habilitation (venia legendi in Molecular Neurobiology), Medical Faculty, University of Zurich, Switzerland

July 2005: Chair of Molecular Biology, University of Sydney, Australia

February 2012: Foundation Chair of Dementia Research, Director, Centre for Ageing Dementia Research, Queensland Brain Institute (QBI)


Current Lab members (Sydney):

 

Dr Miriam Matamales

Dr Arne Ittner (co-supervised with A/Prof Lars Ittner)

Fabien Delerue, RA and PhD student

Hong Lam, Masters student (co-supervised)

Liu Chang, PhD student

Yee Lian Chew, PhD student (co-supervised)

Milena Ullrich, MD student (University of Berlin)

Vanessa Liang, Honours student

 

Current Lab members (Brisbane):

 

Tishila Palliyaguru, Lab Manager

t.palliyaguru@uq.edu.au

Gerhard Leinenga, PhD Student

g.leinenga@uq.edu.au

Linda Wernbacher, Technician

l.wernbacher@imb.uq.edu.au

Di Xia, PhD student

xiadi.time@gmail.com

 

 

AlumniFormer lab members Zurich/Sydney

Stefan Kins, Professor, University of Kaiserslautern

s.kins@biologie.uni-kl.de

Feng Chen, Senior Scientist

fchen@bli.unizh.ch

Wilfried Kues, Staff scientist

wilfried.kues@@fal.de

Alessandra Ferrari, Editor

a.ferrari@macmillan.co.uk

Della David, Group Leader, University of Tubingen, DZNE (Deutsches Zentrum für Neurodegenerative Erkrankungen

Della.David@dzne.de

Andreas Schild, Postdoctoral research fellow

schild@chgr.mgh.harvard.edu

Frederic Hoerndli, Postdoctoral research fellow, University of Utah

hoernf@hotmail.com

Luis Pennanen, Scientist, University of Tubingen, DZNE (Deutsches Zentrum für Neurodegenerative Erkrankungen

Luis.Pennanen@dzne.de

Pascal Kurosinski, IT Specialist

pascal.kurosinski@ersnet.org

Andreas Wiesner, Postdoctoral Fellow

Ming Bi, Medical student, now University of Melbourne

Sven Büttner, PhD Student, University of Bonn

Sven.Buettner@dzne.de

Heidi Wölfing, PhD student, University of Tubingen

Juliane Heide, Research Associate, Victor Chang Research Institute

Christiane Fischer, Masters student (Strassbourg/France)

Niklas Krupka, MD student, University of Heidelberg

Dr. Nicole Schonrock, Scientist, Victor Chang Research Institute, Sydney

N.Schonrock@victorchang.edu.au

Lars Ittner, Associate Professor, NHMRC Senior Research Fellow, Laboratory of Translational Neurodegeneration, BMRI, University of Sydney

lars.ittner@sydney.edu.au

Amadeus Gladbach, PhD student

Dr Xin Liu, Postdoctoral Researcher

Dr Yun-An Lim, Postdoctoral Researcher

Dr Yazi Ke, Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Sydney

Ann-Katrin Lüders, Masters student